Museum founder dies, 85.
Elizabeth Hoare was working for her family firm in London in the late 1980s when she got chatting to Canon Ken Riley who was having his ecclesiastical robes fitted.
When he found out that Mrs Hoare was the niece of George Gilbert Scott, the architect who designed Liverpool Cathedral, and was looking for a home to showcase her collection of salvaged embroidery, he offered her a space in the Gothic building.
She agreed and in 1992, the Elizabeth Hoare Gallery, now the Liverpool Cathedral Embroidery Museum, opened. Mrs Hoare made an annual trip to Liverpool to meet everyone involved with the collection.
Her path could have taken a very different path, however, were it not for the outbreak war in 1939.
A talented young actress at RADA, Elizabeth Scott had secured a contract with Warner Brothers in Hollywood. But then the war started and her husband, Graham Hoare, did not want to sail to America.
Instead, the couple took on Watts & Co, the rival firm to the famous wallpaper and furnishings company Morris & Co, which Elizabeth ended up running.