Printer Friendly

More Misery for Less Money - Lemony Snicket.

Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events Now in Paperback

More Misery for Less Money

Publisher warns books may be ill-suited for personal use

NEW YORK, May 3 /PRNewswire/ -- For the first time since they began ravaging the New York Times bestseller lists 353 weeks ago, the books in A Series of Unfortunate Events are being released in paperback next Tuesday, May 8, 2007. If you know anything about Lemony Snicket's chronicles of the Baudelaire orphans, you know they are filled with treachery, misery, murder, legal research, kidnapping, hook-handed henchmen, and itchy clothing. Despite this, over 55 million copies of A Series of Unfortunate Events have been sold around the world.

Drawing inspiration from the pulpy penny dreadfuls of the 19th century, the new editions of Snicket's first two books are now in paperback as "No. 1: The Bad Beginning or, Orphans!" and "No. 2: The Reptile Room or, Murder!" A handsome new look and stunning all-new artwork by series illustrator Brett Helquist add to the temptation. Worst of all, every paperback book culminates in "HarperCollins's The Cornucopian Cavalcade," a free serial supplement of Snickety comics, advice, activities, and stories certain to corrupt even the most innocent mind.

Like turn-of-the-century circulars, "HarperCollins's The Cornucopian Cavalcade" is filled with extraordinary design and outrageous ideas. It includes "The Spoily Brats" a serialized graphic novel about a pair of detective siblings by acclaimed artist Michael Kupperman; a grimly hilarious advice column by Mr. Snicket himself, entitled "What Shall I Do, Lemony Snicket?"; and serialized stories by Mr. Snicket's literary forbearers. We dare not mention the magic tricks, foul weather activities, or advertisements for electric socks.

Eight years ago, the first editions of A Series of Unfortunate Events spawned countless imitators by being the first to combine the feel of a hardcover with the portability and price of a trade paperback. Now, newly released for the first time as sordid softcovers, the books are poised to upset the delicate world of book publishing yet again. So please, proceed cautiously.

Lemony Snicket is the author of the thirteen books in A Series of Unfortunate Events, which have sold more than 55 million copies worldwide in 40 languages, or possibly vice versa. Mr. Snicket is represented in all legal, literary, and social matters by Daniel Handler, who has also written three novels for adults, The Basic Eight, Watch Your Mouth, and Adverbs. You can visit Lemony Snicket online at

Brett Helquist was born in Ganado, AZ, grew up in Orem, UT, and now lives in Brooklyn, NY. He earned a bachelor's degree in fine arts from Brigham Young University and has been illustrating ever since. Sometimes he finds his work depicting the upsetting lives of the Baudelaire orphans so distressing that he sends himself flowers, but it never helps.
 A Series of Unfortunate Events, No. 1: The Bad Beginning or Orphans!
 By Lemony Snicket
 May 8, 2007
 $6.99 ~ 176 pp ~ 5 1/8" x 7 5/8"
 ISBN 978-0-06-114630-5

 A Series of Unfortunate Events, No. 2: The Reptile Room or Murder!
 By Lemony Snicket
 May 8, 2007
 $6.99 ~ 192 pp ~ 5 1/8" x 7 5/8"
 ISBN 978-0-06-114631-2

CONTACT: Sandee Roston, Executive Director of Publicity, T: +1-212-261-6796, F: +1-212-261-6895,

Web site:
COPYRIGHT 2007 PR Newswire Association LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:PR Newswire
Date:May 3, 2007
Previous Article:Global Summit of Open Source Leaders Releases Free Online Report on State of Commercial Open Source.
Next Article:AerCap Appoints Thomas MacAleavey as Chief Executive of Engine Leasing.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2016 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters