Minors' access to STI services.
* All 50 states and the District of Columbia explicitly allow minors to consent to STI services, although 11 states require that a minor be of a certain age (generally 12 or 14) before being allowed to consent.
* 31 states explicitly include HIV testing and treatment in the package of STI services to which minors may consent.
* 18 states allow physicians to inform a minor's parents that he or she is seeking or receiving STI services; however, with the exception of 1 state that requires parental notification in the case of a positive HIV test, no state requires that physicians notify parents.
FOR MORE INFORMATION:
For information on state legislative and policy activity click on Guttmacher's Monthly State Update and for state level information and data on reproductive health issues, click on Guttmacher's State Center.
Chesson HW et al., The estimated direct medical cost of sexually transmitted diseases among American youth, 2000, Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, 2004, 36(1):11-19.
Weinstock H, Berman S and Cates, Jr. W, Sexually transmitted diseases among American youth: incidence and prevalence estimates, 2000, Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, 2004, 36(1):6-10.
Boonstra H and Nash E, Minors and the right to consent to health care, The Guttmacher Report on Public Policy, 2000, 3(4):4-8.
The Alan Guttmacher Institute (AGI), Sex and America's Teenagers, New York: AGI, 1994.
Donovan P, Our Daughters' Decisions: The Conflict in State Law on Abortion and Other Issues, New York: AGI, 1992.
MINORS' ACCESS TO STI SERVICES CONSENT TO PHYSICIAN MAY MINORS MAY HIV TESTING BUT IS NOT CONSENT TO AND TREATMENT REQUIRED TO STATE STI SERVICES INCLUDED INFORM PARENTS Alabama 12 years X X Alaska X Arizona X Arkansas X X California 12 years X Colorado X X * Connecticut X X Delaware 12 years X X Dist. of Columbia X Florida X X Georgia X X Hawaii 14 years X Idaho 14 years X Illinois 12 years X X Indiana X Iowa X X ([dagger]) Kansas X X Kentucky X X X Louisiana X X Maine X X Maryland X X Massachusetts X ([double dagger]) Michigan X X X Minnesota X X Mississippi X X ([OMEGA]) Missouri X X Montana X X X Nebraska X Nevada X X New Hampshire 14 years New Jersey X 13 years X New Mexico X X ([OMEGA]) New York X X ([OMEGA]) North Carolina X X North Dakota 14 years X Ohio X X ([OMEGA]) Oklahoma X X X Oregon X X Pennsylvania X X Rhode Island X X South Carolina 16 years or X mature minor South Dakota X Tennessee X X Texas X X X Utah X Vermont 12 years X ([OMEGA]) Virginia X X Washington 14 years X West Virginia X Wisconsin X Wyoming X X TOTAL 50 + DC 31 18 * Physician may inform parents of minor's decision to consent to HIV/AIDS services if the minor is younger than 16. ([dagger]) A parent must be notified of a positive HIV test result. ([double dagger]) The state funds a statewide program that gives minors access to STI services. ([OMEGA]) Does not include right to consent to HIV/AIDS treatment.
|Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback|
|Title Annotation:||sexually-transmitted infections|
|Publication:||State Policies in Brief (Series)|
|Article Type:||Statistical table|
|Date:||Apr 1, 2009|
|Previous Article:||Minors' access to prenatal care.|
|Next Article:||Minors' rights as parents.|