Printer Friendly

Japan's new cabinet lineup

TOKYO, July 30 Kyodo

Roster of Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi's cabinet launched Thursday: *

(Position) (Name) (Age) Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi 61 Finance Minister Kiichi Miyazawa 78 Foreign Minister Masahiko Komura 56 International Trade Kaoru Yosano 59

and Industry Minister Justice Minister Shozaburo Nakamura 64 Construction Minister Katsutsugu Sekiya 60 Transport Minister Jiro Kawasaki 50 Posts and Seiko Noda 37

Telecommunications Minister Labor Minister Akira Amari 48 Education Minister Akito Arima 67 Agriculture, Forestry Shoichi Nakagawa 45

and Fisheries Minister Health and Welfare Sohei Miyashita 70

Minister Home Affairs Minister Mamoru Nishida 70 State Minister Kenji Manabe 63

(Director General, Environment Agency) State Minister Hiromu Nonaka 72

(Chief Cabinet Secretary) State Minister Seiichi Ota 52

(Director General, Management

and Coordination Agency) State Minister Fukushiro Nukaga 54

(Director General, Defense Agency) State Minister Yutaka Takeyama 64

(Director General, Science and Technology

Agency) State Minister Taichi Sakaiya 63

(Director General, Economic Planning Agency) State Minister Kichio Inoue 75

(Director General, Hokkaido and Okinawa

Development agencies) State Minister Hakuo Yanagisawa 62

(Director General, National Land Agency) (Note: Posts and Telecommunications Minister Noda is the only woman in the cabinet, while Economic Planning Agency Director General Sakaiya is not a Diet member.)
COPYRIGHT 1998 Kyodo News International, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1998 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

 Reader Opinion




Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Japan Policy & Politics
Date:Aug 3, 1998
Previous Article:Woman gives birth following rare medical procedure
Next Article:New justice minister eager to vitalize vice ministers

Terms of use | Copyright © 2016 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters