Printer Friendly
The Free Library
22,719,120 articles and books

Geshwiler succeeds Jones as president.

WHEN NCEW NCEW National Conference of Editorial Writers  MEMBERS meet in Philadelphia to elect officers for 1994, they will be asked to approve a slate of candidates headed by vice president Joseph H. Geshwiler, who will succeed Edward W. Jones as president. Geshwiler is an editorial writer at The Atlanta Constitution.

Tommy Denton, NCEW's treasurer and senior editorial writer/columnist for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram The Fort Worth Star-Telegram is a major U.S. daily newspaper serving Fort Worth and the western half of the North Texas area known as the Metroplex. Its area of domination is checked by its main rival, The Dallas Morning News , will move up to vice president. Rena Pederson, vice president/editor of the editorial pages for the Dallas Morning News, will move up from secretary to treasurer.

Convention participants also will elect a secretary and three members to NCEW's board of directors. The candidates for secretary are Susan Albright, editor of the editorial pages for the Star Tribune For the Wyoming newspaper, see .

The Star Tribune (also Star trib or Strib, as it is often referred to) is the largest newspaper in the U.S.
 in Minneapolis, and Sue Ryon, assistant editorial page editor of The Milwaukee Journal. Albright is completing a term on the NCEW board, and Ryon is completing her third year as editor of The Masthead mast¬∑head ¬†
1. Nautical The top of a mast.

2. The listing in a newspaper or periodical of information about its staff, operation, and circulation.


Six people have been nominated for three two-year terms on the board. They are:

* Mindy Cameron, editorial page editor of The Seattle Times.

* Diane Clark, editor of the opinion pages for The San Diego San Diego (săn dēā`gō), city (1990 pop. 1,110,549), seat of San Diego co., S Calif., on San Diego Bay; inc. 1850. San Diego includes the unincorporated communities of La Jolla and Spring Valley. Coronado is across the bay.  Union-Tribune.

* Suzanne Fields, columnist at The Washington Times.

* Alf Pratte, professor of communications at Brigham Young University Brigham Young University, at Provo, Utah; Latter-Day Saints; coeducational; opened as an academy in 1875 and became a university in 1903. It is noted for its law and business schools. .

* Chuck Stokes, editorial and public affairs director for WXYZ-TV in Detroit.

* Jack Zaleski, editorial page editor of The Forum in Fargo, N.D.

Three members remain on the board: Geri Denterlein, editorial director for Boston's WBZ-TV; Catherine Ford, associate editor of the Calgary Herald in Alberta; and Phil Haslanger, associate editor of The Capital Times in Madison, Wis.

Biographies of the candidates, as well as a brief summation of their goals for NCEW, follow.
COPYRIGHT 1993 National Conference of Editorial Writers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1993, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

 Reader Opinion




Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Convention '93; 'The Atlanta Constitution' editorial writer Joseph H. Geshwiler; National Conference of Editorial Writers President Edward W. Jones
Publication:The Masthead
Date:Sep 22, 1993
Previous Article:See the city after hours.
Next Article:Albright, Ryon compete for secretary position.

Related Articles
NCEW resources help job search.
Council offers ear of other journalists.
Next stop: Taiwan, Hong Kong, Beijing.
Convention '94: examine new directions at home and abroad.
Stick to liberal arts and conservative suits.
Strong opinions plus high-tech equipment equals sheer panic.
Find the connection.
Tips on finetuning the process.
Celebration tradition continues.
Make a donation and help the Foundation.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2014 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters