Printer Friendly

Entertainment Radio Networks Announces Nominees for Fourth Annual Country Radio Music Awards and Legend Award Winner Tom T. Hall

MALIBU, Calif., Feb. 10 /PRNewswire/ -- Entertainment Radio Networks (ERN) announces the nominees for the Fourth Annual Country Radio Music Awards -- the only awards show created for radio, which will take place at Nashville's historic Ryman Auditorium on Tuesday, March 4 from 8 - 10 p.m.(CDT). After winning awards at almost every ceremony during the past year, Bryan White will host the show, welcoming more than a dozen of country music's best, including Clint Black, Tracy Lawrence, James Bonamy, Kevin Sharp, Mindy McCready, Ricochet, Ty Herndon and more, to perform during the two-hour LIVE show, which will air on more than 250 stations across the nation. The highlight of the evening will come when Tom T. Hall receives the coveted Legend Award for his outstanding contributions to radio as both a singer and songwriter, following in the footsteps of past recipients Johnny Cash, Merle Haggard, and Loretta Lynn.

The winners will be chosen by listeners who call 800-789-CRMA between February 10th and 28th.

"Radio has had an amazing year, and we're looking forward to presenting some of country music's biggest stars with some well-deserved awards," says Dana Miller, chairman and chief executive officer of Entertainment Radio Networks.

The nominees for the 1997 Country Radio Music Awards are:

Best Female Artist: Terri Clark, Patty Loveless, LeAnn Rimes, Shania

Twain, and Trisha Yearwood

Best Male Artist: Clint Black, Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson, Tracy

Lawrence, and Bryan White

Best Group or Duo: Brooks & Dunn, Diamond Rio, Lonestar, Ricochet, and

Sawyer Brown

Best New Artist: James Bonamy, Paul Brandt, Deana Carter, Mindy McCready,

and LeAnn Rimes

Album of the Year: "Borderline" Brooks & Dunn, "High Lonesome Sound"

Vince Gill, "The Trouble with The Truth" Patty Loveless, "Blue" LeAnn

Rimes, "Between Now and Forever" Bryan White

Single of the Year: "My Maria" by Brooks & Dunn, "It's What I Do" by

Billy Dean, "Does That Blue Moon Ever Shine on You" by Toby Keith, "Time

Marches On" by Tracy Lawrence, and "Blue Clear Sky" by George Strait

Song of the Year (Writer's Award): "Blue" written by Bill Mack, "I Think

About You" written by Don Schlitz and Steve Seskin, "Strawberry Wine"

written by Matraca Berg and Gary Harrison, "The River and the Highway"

written by Gerry House and Don Schlitz, and "Worlds Apart" written by

Vince Gill

"As an accomplished singer with 34 albums, 46 BMI Awards, and seven CMA nominations; the author of seven books, including an autobiography, a songwriting textbook, and two novels; and the songwriter of Jeannie C. Riley's smash country-pop hit `Harper Valley PTA,' Tom T. Hall has earned this award and more," says Dana Miller.

His seven number one hits include: "A Week in the Country Jail" (1970), "The Year That Clayton Delaney Died" (1971), and "I Love" (1973). His songs have been recorded by such greats as Perry Como, George Burns, Loretta Lynn, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, and Alan Jackson, who hit the top of the charts in 1996 with "Little Bitty."

Entertainment Radio Networks, Inc., the country's number one privately owned radio network, is based in Malibu, California. They produce and distribute 20 of the most successful radio programs in the world for a variety of formats. Their country programs include "Countryline USA," "Live from the Sunset Strip," "Country Club," "Country News," and "The Weekly Top 30 with Charlie Tuna" which air on more than 1500 stations. In addition, all of their programs are broadcast live over the Internet at

The event is open to the public. Tickets for the Fourth Annual Country Radio Music Awards on Tuesday, March 4 from 8 - 10 p.m. (CDT) at the Ryman Auditorium are $5, and are on sale now at all Ticketmaster outlets, charge by phone 615-255-9600, or at the Ryman Auditorium box office. Convenience charges apply. Proceeds from all ticket sales will benefit Bryan White's preferred charity, "the Oklahoma City Scholarship Fund."

SOURCE Entertainment Radio Networks, Inc.
 -0- 2/10/97

/CONTACT: Patty Robertson for Entertainment Radio Networks, Inc., 615-298-1551/

CO: Entertainment Radio Networks ST: California, Tennessee IN: ENT SU:

AK -- CHM002 -- 1319 02/10/97 09:10 EST
COPYRIGHT 1997 PR Newswire Association LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1997 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:PR Newswire
Date:Feb 10, 1997
Previous Article:Instant Video Technologies Announces 300% Increase in Revenue
Next Article:Midwest Payment Systems, People's Credit Union Enter Processing Agreement

Terms of use | Copyright © 2016 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters