Printer Friendly
The Free Library
22,725,466 articles and books

Dr. Nanda honored with the Ellis Island medal of honor/Dr. Nanda Ellis Island Medal of Honor Ile sereflendirilmistir.

Dr. Navin C. Nanda, Professor of Medicine and Director, Heart Station/ Echocardiography Echocardiography Definition

Echocardiography is a diagnostic test that uses ultrasound waves to create an image of the heart muscle. Ultrasound waves that rebound or echo off the heart can show the size, shape, and movement of the heart's valves and
 Laboratories, at the University of Alabama at Birmingham UAB began in 1936 as the Birmingham Extension Center of the University of Alabama. Because of the rapid growth of the Birmingham area, it was decided that an extension program for students who had difficulties which prevented them from studying in Tuscaloosa was needed. , was selected by the Board of Directors and the Selection Committee of the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO Neco: see Necho. ) as a recipient of the 2006 Ellis Island Medal of Honor The Ellis Island Medal of Honor was established in 1986 to pay tribute to the immigrant experience and individual achievement, and are awarded to U.S. citizens from various ethnic backgrounds. . The official Award ceremony was held in the historic Great Hall on Ellis Island near the Statue of Liberty Statue of Liberty

great symbolic structure in New York harbor. [Am. Hist.: Jameson, 284]

See : America

Statue of Liberty

perhaps the most famous monument to independence. [Am. Hist.: Jameson, 284]

See : Freedom
 in New York on May 13, 2006. It ranks as one of the nation's most prestigious and highest civilian awards and is officially recognized and sanctioned by the United States Congress (both the House of Representatives and the Senate). The awardees' names are also listed in the Congressional Record. Previous award recipients have included Presidents George Bush Sr., Jimmy Carter, William Clinton, Gerald Ford, Richard Nixon and Ronald Reagan, as well as other renowned leaders and Nobel Prize winners Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel
Year Recipient(s)
1969 Ragnar Frisch Jan Tinbergen
1970 Paul A. Samuelson
1971 Simon Kuznets
1972 Sir John R. Hicks Kenneth J.
. The award recognizes outstanding American citizens who have distinguished themselves by their outstanding contributions to this country. Only two others from Alabama have received the Award previously: Rosa Parks, Civil Rights Activist in 1986 when the Award was first instituted and Ronald K. Richey, an industrialist. Dr. Nanda is the first physician to receive this Award while living and working in Alabama. Dr. Nanda is internationally known for his pioneering work and research accomplishments in echocardiography, outstanding contributions to ethnic Asian Indian and African American physician organizations in this country and advancing the development of cardiology in many countries of the world.
COPYRIGHT 2006 Galenos Yayincilik
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

 Reader Opinion




Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Miscellaneous/Cesitli
Publication:The Anatolian Journal of Cardiology (Anadolu Kardiyoloji Dergisi)
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Dec 1, 2006
Previous Article:Dev Osborn dalgalari gorulen bir hipotermi olgusu/Report of a case with huge Osborn waves.
Next Article:Gladstone ranks No. 1/Gladstone dereceleri No. 1.

Related Articles
U.S.B. Holding. Co. (Who's News: Management Personnel).
Basralian to receive Ellis medal.
Philanthropist, Tamir Sapir, honored by NYANA at Fourth Annual Torch of Honor Awards dinner.
Former tax commissioner named to REBNY board.
Statue of Liberty restoration architect awarded Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2014 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters