Printer Friendly

AUTHOR HOOKS INTO 'MILLENNIAL FEVER' WITH CONTROVERSIAL NOVEL ABOUT SECOND COMING OF CHRIST

 AUTHOR HOOKS INTO 'MILLENNIAL FEVER'
 WITH CONTROVERSIAL NOVEL ABOUT SECOND COMING OF CHRIST
 BALTIMORE, July 7 /PRNewswire/ -- Thomas F. Monteleone, acclaimed thriller writer, has published an exciting new novel about the Second Coming, "The Blood of the Lamb."
 The book is garnering great reviews and stirring up much controversy among this country's millions of Christians.
 "I wanted to write a book that would get people to realize that Jesus was man as well as our God, and that he might be just as prone to worldly


temptation as any of us," said Monteleone.
 "The Blood of the Lamb" (Tor Books, $21.95, 420 pages) may be this year's summer-read sleeper. The novel turns on a unique premise: take a blood sample from the Shroud of Turin, employ a Nobel Prize-winning scientist to create a cloned embryo, then wait 30 years for Jesus Christ to be reborn. The Second Coming becomes a reality as religion and science become unlikely partners in a Vatican conspiracy that rocks the world.
 "Monteleone's new book could very well make him Christianity's Salman Rushdie!" said bestselling author Andrew Vachss.
 Blasphemy or not, "The Blood of the Lamb" grabs readers on the first page and never lets go, taking them on a non-stop, page-turning ride. It has everything people like to talk about: religion, sex, corruption, intrigue, action, and a terrifying message.
 The New York Times reported last year more than 50 million people in the United States believe the end of the world will happen in the year 2000, that Jesus is coming at the turn of the century -- the Millennium.
 Whitley Strieber, author of many bestsellers, said, "'The Blood of the Lamb' is a great read. It has well-drawn characters, depth, and an absolutely marvelous story.... What a delicious, fun, thrilling outrage!"
 Monteleone's books explore the darker regions of the imagination in the tradition of Dean Koontz, David Morrell and Stephen King. In addition to more than 20 novels, he has published almost 100 short stories in major magazines and anthologies. A regular on the college lecture circuit, Monteleone has been described by the Baltimore Sun as "a Renaissance man with arrogance of a street punk and the charm of a Little Leaguer." In lectures, he speaks with humor and acerbity on a wide range of subjects.
 -0- 7/7/92
 /CONTACT: Tom Monteleone, 410-484-9649, or 800-528-3310, or Jane Wesman Public Relations For the Arts, 212-JW8-4440/ CO: ST: IN: PUB SU: PDT


MK-MP -- PHFNS1 -- 6835 07/07/92 07:32 EDT
COPYRIGHT 1992 PR Newswire Association LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1992 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:PR Newswire
Date:Jul 7, 1992
Words:416
Previous Article:SYBARITIC CREATES HEALTH ENVIRONMENT CAPSULE: THE NEW SHAPE OF THE FUTURE
Next Article:LIVE COVERAGE OF GARDEN STATE GAMES ON CABLE
Topics:


Related Articles
Booked for 2000?
The Millennial New World.
CONTEMPORARY CLASSICS POETRY SERIES.
Reading between the lines: characters live into their relationship to God with seriousness and joy. (Excerpt).
Cloning Jesus: a science fiction thriller turns on DNA from the Shroud of Turin.
Bestsellers captivate millions.
Books: WHAT'S HOT FOR 2006.
Da Vinci a church booster.
AndroGyne Press publishes Jesus in Love.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2016 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters